Float On

I suffer from a condition I like to call inspiration saturation. I am perpetually dazzled by the people and world around me. Although this enthusiasm is one of my strongest assets, it also present challenges. My age and experiences indicate that I am an adult, but I still don’t know where I want to go or what I want to do with my life. Those close to me probably roll their eyes at the constantly shifting whims of my interests. They must feel like every time I talk to them, I have a new project to pursue.

While catching up with an uncle I mentioned that I wanted to raise meat chickens on my lawn this summer, but was struggling to find 6 contiguous weeks to be home. He said, feigning interest, “I seem to remember that balloon floating around your head before.” His comment made me realize that I have spent my adulthood feeling like an image from a charming French film I watched as a little girl called The Red Balloon.

Pascal at the end of “The Red Balloon”

Unlike Pascal, the balloons aren’t my friends taking me on a tour of Paris. They are the ideas and aspirations that carry me through the elation and disappointment of life.

This is an outlet for me to release the bits of rubber floating in my head. I hope they uplift you as well.

Thank you for joining me on the journey.

2 responses to “Float On

Leave a Reply

