Crickets, and salmon

I’m sorry I abandoned you during October. I was busy driving and becoming uncomfortably familiar with how much stuff I have. I also learned why tradespeople don’t move very often. Tools are heavy, very heavy and there was a shop full of them. Did you know a 300 pound anvil actually weighs 300 pounds? I optimistically assumed it had to do with the strike force it can take or something. Nope, that thing is one dense metal beast. After loosing my dog, 3 flat tires, a snow storm, logistical nightmares, and 2,000 miles logged on my odometer, I think Murphy’s Law best describes our moving experience.

I am happy to report we successfully migrated to central coastal California in time for a mild winter. I was overwhelmed with mixed feelings and nostalgia as we passed yellow leafed aspen and snow dusted conifers on our last trip over the mountains. The Golden State has fall colors that are well worth a trip to one its less explored reaches.

Beginning of fall colors on the Susan River near the Bizz Johnson Trail.

I already miss living with the four seasons but hope our move back to civilization will provide opportunity for long term employment. At any rate, I find myself trying to fill the void left by our currently summery weather with food that reminds me of fall.

Somebody in our household caught a 30 pound salmon over the weekend, and we are reveling in the bounty the fish provided. Monday night we tried a Spanish recipe with a light olive sauce that we weren’t crazy about. Nothing was wrong with it, it just tasted bland and the fish’s texture wasn’t firm enough. Last night, we just seasoned it with what we had and threw it on the grill. All four people agreed it was the best salmon they ever tasted, and our company doesn’t say that very often. I wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out, so it didn’t occur to me to take pictures or record the recipe in detail. Then I was too busy wallowing in my gluttony to stop for photos.

Making Due Grilled Salmon

Light charcoal in your grill. Wait until coals are white. Add wood chips.

Create a tray out of foil on a baking sheets and place a few pads of butter underneath to keep it from sticking to the foil, no more than 3 tbsp.

Season both sides (listed from largest to smallest volume):

garlic powder, sea salt, fresh ground pepper, Italian herb mix

Pour ~1/3 bottle of brown ale around the fillet.

Place seasoned salmon in a tray of foil off to the side of the heat and cover with the lid with the vent slightly open. Leave on for 10 minutes longer than you would normally cook salmon, the beer and butter keeps the fish from drying out. I think you could use water or an apple cider if you don’t drink to the same effect. The extra time creates a slightly smokier flavor.

2 responses to “Crickets, and salmon

Leave a Reply

